
Assessment Schedule 
for Utah public school students

• The following chart details assessments offered or required by the state or federal government. 
• Individual districts or governing boards may offer additional tests that are not 

mandated by the state or federal government.

Updated April 2014 by the Utah State Board of Education

Assessment Description Grade Required By Data Use Approximate 
Testing Time

Testing 
Window

SAGE 
Summative 

(Student Assessment of 
Growth and Excellence)

End of course/grade 
assessment in  

English language arts, 
math and science

English language arts 
3-11, 

Math 3-8, Math I, II, III 
Science 4-11, 

Earth Systems, Biology, 
Physics, Chemistry

Federal and State Law, 
USOE Board Rule

1. Assess proficiency in 
English language arts, 

math and science
2. UCAS (Utah 

Comprehensive 
Accountability 

System)
3. School Grading                      

4. Teacher evaluation

90 minutes per 
content area

Six weeks prior to 
last Monday of the 

school year

DWA
(Direct Writing 

Assessment), now 
embedded in SAGE 

English language arts

Writing assessment 
aligned to Utah state 

core writing standards

English language arts 
3-11

Federal and State Law, 
USOE Board Rule

1. Assess proficiency 
in writing as part of 

English language arts                                          
2. UCAS (Utah 

Comprehensive 
Accountability 

System)
3. Teacher evaluation

1-hour writing 
session

Six weeks priof to 
last Monday of 

school year; 
writing portion may be 

administered in a three-
week window prior to 
the six-week window

SAGE Interim 
(Student Assessment of 
Growth and Excellence) 

Fall and mid-year as-
sessment in English 
language arts, math 

and science

English language arts 
3-11, 

Math 3-8, Math I, II, III 
Science 4-11, 

Earth Systems, Biology, 
Physics, Chemistry

Optional Assess proficiency in 
language arts, math and 

science

90 minutes per 
content area

Open window

DIBELS
(Dynamic Indicators of 

Basic Early 
Literacy Skills)

Reading fluency 
assessment

1-3 State Law, 
USOE Board Rule

1.  Assess reading 
proficiency

2. Assess reading goals

5 minutes per 
student, three times 

per year

Completed by: 
Sep. 30, Jan. 31,  and 

June 15

WIDA ACCESS 
(World Class 

Instruction Design)

English language 
proficiency assessment 
for English learner (EL)

students

EL students in grades 
K-12

Federal and State Law, 
USOE Board Rule

1. Language 
proficiency

2. Placement                    
3. EL Services

3-4 hours Jan. 14 -May 3

EXPLORE & PLAN College and career 
readiness exams

8 or 9, 10 State Law, 
USOE Board Rule

School information 2-3 hours First Tuesday in March 
(make-up test third 
Tuesday in March)

ACT College and career 
readiness exams

11 State Law, 
USOE Board Rule

School Grading 3-4 hours First Tuesday in March 
(make-up test third 
Tuesday in March)

NAEP
(National Assessment 

of Educational 
Progress)

National 
assessment given to 

students across 
the nation

Sampling of Utah 
schools in grades 

4, 8, 12

Federal and State Law, 
USOE Board Rule

National Content Test 
in language arts, math 

and science

90 minutes Jan. 21-Mar 1

UAA
(Utah Alternative 

Assessment)

Alternative Utah state 
summative assessment 

for special education 
students

3-11 
(1% of students)

Federal and State Law, 
USOE Board Rule

Assess proficiency in 
language arts, math 

and science; 
used for school and 

teacher accountability

Varies by student Six weeks prior to last 
Monday of school year


